jump to navigation

Steel Bridge 2011

The University of Alaska Fairbanks Steel Bridge Team competed at the Pacific Northwest Regional Student Conference on April 1st and 2nd, 2011. UAF won the Regional Steel Bridge competition, bringing home first place overall and in addition received first place in five individual categories: efficiency, stiffness, economy, lightness and construction speed.  UAF also placed fourth in aesthetics. UAF will go on to compete in the National Steel Bridge Competition held at Texas A&M University, on May 20th and 21st, 2011.The top three schools at Regionals will compete at Nationals; UAF will be joined by our regional competitors; the second place team University of British Colombia and the third place team Washington State University. Faculty advisors Dr. Leroy Hulsey, professor of structural engineering and Wilhelm Muench, adjunct professor assisted the team in their victory. The team members include: Patrick Brandon, Nicholas Brehm, Gordon Dufseth, Pauline Fusco, Jennifer Holland, Jeromy Jones, Louis Landry-Michaud, Aaron Simpson, Greg Smith, Aubrey Swallows, Julien Tessier-Lessard, Stephanie Young, and Jason Zottola.

Contact Jenny at jcholland@alaska.edu or Stephanie at snyoung@alaska.edu to help this year’s team out. Follow the link below to learn about donating!


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This year’s generous donors!

Fairbanks Branch American Society of Civil Engineers

Alaska EPSCoR

GHEMM Company

Holiday Parks

Great Northwest, Inc.

Seekins Ford

Shannon & Wilson

PM & E Services

UAF College of Engineering and Mines

UAF Civil and Environmental Engineering Department

Suzette Stachow

Leroy Hulsey

Jenny Liu

Horatio Toniolo

Dave Barnes

Robert Perkins

Gary Tyndall

Yuri Shur

Linda Ilgenfritz

Bill and Helga Watterson

Marcus and Jodee Trivette

Robert and Pamela Hansen

Cindy Stagier

Jennifer Grovhoug

Martin and Marilyn Walther

Jeffrey P. Stutzke

Larry J. Mosley, Jr.

Ted and Rebecca Johnson

John and Kelly Schuler

Carrie, Bob, Alex and Rachel Jordan

A Special Thank You to:

Oceana Francis

Mark Sherman

Quentin Gehring

From the UAF CEE Dept:

Wilhelm Muench

Suzette Stachow

Jill Dewey

Leroy Hulsey

Yuri Shur


Technical Services



No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: