jump to navigation

Steel Bridge 2012

The University of Alaska Fairbanks Steel Bridge Team will compete at the Pacific Northwest Regional Student Conference this year. The bridge being submitted will be judged according to the following categories: efficiency, stiffness, economy, lightness, aesthetics, and construction speed.  Faculty advisors Dr. Leroy Hulsey, professor of structural engineering and Wilhelm Muench, adjunct professor, will be helping the team work towards continued success in the steel bridge competition. The team member roster includes Amanda Green, Tae Freeman, Jason Rein, Wayne Pence, Sam Carlson, Steve Lee, Ty Wardell, Tripp Collier, Elliot Clausen, Peter Kosmin, Will Riley and Ryan Cudo.  The pictures below are from some preparations, including putting together and taking apart previous years of bridges.

Contact Amanda at algreen@alaska.edu to help this year’s team out. Follow the link below to learn about donating!  (http://www.uaf.edu/giving/gift/giving-form/)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A Special Thank You to:


Prof. Leroy Hulsey

Wilhelm Muench

Eric Johansen

Suzette Stachow

Yuri Shur

John Zarling

Horacio Toniolo

Robert Perkins

Gary Tyndall

Keith Whitaker

Our GOLD level Donors:

Our BLUE level Donors:



No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: